Into Film Project: 16 – Shaun the Sheep (sort of)

Today is the Winter Solstice and the suggested film was Shaun the Sheep. However, as a very new film I don’t have any way of watching it, so instead I will be reviewing the TV series.

I watched this particular episode of the TV series on BBC Alba, which I though may pose a problem, being in Scottish Gaelic. This is not something that is an issue with this Aardman animation though, as there is no speaking involved from Shaun and his sheep friends (and the farmer and dog). I don’t have a clue whether dialogue actually exists in the film version, but I feel like I would get fractious about it if there was no speech for the entire 90 minutes or so.

With only 7 minutes to go on, it’s hard to get the gist of the programme from one episode, but the premise is that the sheep cause havoc for their farmer and manage to get away with it without anyone noticing. I’m not sure how this will work on the big screen with the inevitable increase in length, but I imagine it could. From a TV point of view, 7 minutes seems the optimum time to spend on an episode of Shaun the Sheep – I didn’t get bored but it wasn’t over in the blink of an eye either.

Funny and perfect for children, Shaun the Sheep on TV has intrigued me for what the film has in store. Three stars.

Leave a Reply

