Top 5 songs from Jersey Boys

In the last few days I have been listening to a lot of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons, after having a song from the  musical, Jersey Boys, requested on my two hour musical themed radio show on Monday. In that instance I chose December, 1963 (Oh What A Night!) because the night before I watched the Sherlock episode where Watson gets married and this is played at the end of the wedding reception.

But since then I have been listening to other songs and now I want to have played ALL OF THEM. So here is my top five songs by the Four Seasons (not with accompanying YouTube links yet as I am writing on my tablet)

5. Beggin’
Actually my original choice to play on the show, Beggin’ was my first exposure to the music from Jersey Boys through the cover by Madcon (I believe that was who it was). Most people who hear that song often believe the words are Meggie, Meggie ooooh but it’s a catchy song and I feel deserves a place in my top five, although not in the greatest hits album apparently.

4. Grease
From the Grease soundtrack, I was surprised that Grease was actually a Frankie Valli song and with it being adjacent to December, 1963 on the greatest hits, I’ve ended up listening to it a fair amount. However, it achieves its place in its own right!

3. Bye Bye Baby (Baby Goodbye)
I have to say that the inclusion of this song is entirely down to its inclusion in Love Actually (which I watched on Saturday), but it’s a beautiful yet slightly melancholy piece of music that’s got a perfect beat for dancing around. There are some great held notes too.

2. Can’t Take My Eyes Off You
This song comes a close second to my top choice. I love how the sentiments of love are conveyed through the song. It really draws the listener in with the introduction and then fantastic brass before the chorus and how every member of the ensemble belts out this chorus, which is almost not surprising when you consider the loudness of the brass. Play me this song and you will probably melt my heart.

1. December, 1963 (Oh What A Night!)
This is the song that I played and, all in all, it’s still my favourite! It makes me want to dance (thanking everyone for staying away from the SU on Monday morning and not witnessing my dancing) and it’s pretty good to sing along to. It’s so joyful and it makes me happy and that’s what ultimately pushes it to the top.

So there you have it, my top 5 Frankie Valli songs. Do you agree? Feel free to leave a comment below!
Honourable mentions should go to Sherry, Walk Like A Man and Working My Way Back To You, which are also great songs that feel quite similar musically.

Leave a Reply

