Insanity Radio – I was mad not to…

You may have noticed that I have been posting a lot recently, which is a nice change from past few months of very few sporadic posts. The reason being is that I am challenging myself to Blogvent, a notion I have just made up (it probably already existed) where I blog every day of advent. Seeing as I’m currently on day 4, it’s going pretty well.

So, today I am talking about the fantastic Insanity Radio, because they deserve more than a small paragraph in a monthly update. I have been listening to Insanity for over a year and it always looked super fun to be involved, but also something which I did not have the courage to get involved in. Still, I was a devoted listener and wrote a piece for The Founder (the student newspaper) entitled Addicted to Insanity Radio, which I blogged about here: https://afterscoliosis.wordpress.com/2015/01/01/article-published-in-the-founder/.

If you just read the above article, you will know that I did have a small desire to guest on Insanity, which was realised during Welcome Week this year. Little did I know that within two weeks I would be presenting my first live show! This is the point at which I give a shout out (radio style) to the Assistant Station Manager of Insanity, Conor Ryan, for having me on his show and encouraging me to apply for a slot in the schedule, as well as being my producer (although I’m jumping ahead a bit).

So I applied to be a presenter, thought nothing much would come of it, went to my interview (straight after doing the Orbital interviews about a metre away) still thinking I’d just end up with my single guest appearance. And then came the Open Day, which I was helping with as part of the Orbital (before going to one of the most exciting days at work, but more about that later in the month). I had to head back to the SU from the Quad where we were representing the media outlets to get something and had to be let in by Young, the Station Manager, who promptly congratulated me on getting a show in the schedule. And so while I was at work my phone went a little bit mad with Facebook notifications from the members group and important emails about training, and then I got home to find I had about 48 hours to plan my first ever show, which was to be aired on the Monday.

A Sunday afternoon in Costa ensued, planning commenced, and then the day was polished off by a pub lunch with the Media Board members, who all were aware of my new show and asked what I was going to do and me being very unsure about what I was actually going to do and slightly glad that most of them had a lecture at 3 on a Monday and so wouldn’t be listening. Then again, the Orbital show was new too so it was not just me stressfully straying into unknown territory.

This is getting long, I apologise. But yes, I had my first show without any major issues except forgetting to turn the microphones off and being generally nervous. I felt pretty rubbish about the whole thing all day, but in hindsight that was down to me being ill and making the poor decision of going home after each Insanity thing I was doing on campus (which was three times). My second show went a lot better, and I would like to say that it has gone from strength to strength, especially now we’re having planning meetings and I get all of the technical things. The show even has a name: Entertaining History, because I tend to talk about history and it’s an entertainment show. I’ve had a few guests (and if you’re reading this and want to come on, let me know!) and I’m kind of getting into ‘new’ music again (so my iPod might soon contain songs that are less than 4 years old).

The other angle of my role with Insanity is being part of the news team. Partly chosen because it was the only team where I could actually make the meetings, it also has given me a further outlet for my writing and the opportunity to write and read news broadcasts on air. This isn’t exactly plain sailing – there’s not a great deal of news in Egham for a start! However, my first article was published on the website earlier this week, and I’m quite proud of it, although I hope the next one I write will be much more news-y. You can read it here: http://insanityradio.com/news/interfaith-week-13th-20th-november/.

I’m so glad I got involved with Insanity and hopefully there are even more fun radio related things in the pipeline. Meanwhile, you can listen back to my shows on my mixcloud ( https://www.mixcloud.com/elizabeth-carr/) and catch my final regular show of the year at 3pm on Monday on http://www.insanityradio.com – although do not despair, as you will be able to hear me on Monday 14th (time tbc) and Tuesday 22nd December (12-2pm) and hopefully also next term! And if you’re at all interested in being part of Insanity, just as I was, don’t hesitate to get in touch! (I will probably pass you on to someone much more knowledgable)

Leave a Reply

