Some future fears

I was watching a film the other week, the title of which is unimportant, but within that film one of the characters had cancer. Cancer is a very poignant issue for everyone and unfortunately I have watched friends and family suffer because of it. It wasn’t something I expected in the film, but I digress. One day I will probably blog further about cancer but that is not the point of this post.

As part of her diagnosis, the character had to undergo an MRI. I’ve had an MRI and it was actually almost an enjoyable experience. (You can read about it here: https://afterscoliosis.wordpress.com/2013/04/07/mri-and-seeking-alternatives/) Anyway, in preparing for the scan, she was asked if she had any metal on her person, because if she did it would be ripped away by the magnet, or words to that effect. I think I visibly shuddered at that.

I shouldn’t have been surprised but I’m now pretty sure I would never be able to have an MRI again. But that’s fine, CT scans and X-rays I hope are sufficient for any scoliosis related scans, and should I need any kind of brain scan then there must be alternatives.

But this got me thinking. What about my children? This in itself is partly wishful thinking, but I do hope that I will have children in the future. With scoliosis having a genetic aspect to it, surely they are of greater risk of developing it. What if they have to go through the same process as me? I was lucky that I was 14 by the time I was referred to London and understood a lot more of what was going on, but many children are younger. I wouldn’t have got through it without my parents, and I dread to think how I would’ve coped with the MRI had my mum not been there in the room with me. The idea that I wouldn’t be able to do this for my own child saddens me, especially the idea of explaining that Mummy can’t be in there with them even though I know exactly how they feel. This is all hypothetical of course, and even if I do have children they aren’t guaranteed to need as much treatment as me, and even if they do then I hope that there will be a father able to take time off work to do a role that medically I’m too at risk to do. And I can be there providing a warm hug afterwards, just like my dad did (although not after the MRI because he did have to work!)

Leave a Reply

