Fantastic Acts

On Saturday evening, I had the privilege of seeing Fantastic Acts, a production by the Riding Lights Theatre Company, as part of a group of students from St John’s Church. We are looking at Acts in Student Life Group, so when Clem found out that there was a show based on the book touring round the country, a trip was quickly organised.

I’m not going to say very much about the show itself because I don’t want to spoil it. However, I will say that it was a lovely evening out and a really enjoyable, bible centred play. It was not what I expected, but that’s not a bad thing! The cast are really talented and there is very clever use of props and a great storyline.

Anyway, I am particularly writing this for my readers in my home town (although the tour continues throughout the country until 29th November) because there are 2 shows in Worthing on the 21st and 22nd and I thoroughly recommend that you go and check it out – it’s a steal at only £10!

You can find out loads more at the website: http://ridinglights.org/acts/

Before I finish, I do need to relate the trip to the general subject of my blog – my back. Lower back pain had greatly flared up over the past week (also known as reading week for most people except myself) particularly because of stress. So I ended up spending most of Saturday in bed, watching TV – nice and relaxing but not encouraging me to go out anywhere! I did venture out actually, to Egham to take someone back to the station, but apart from that I was in all day. I was also pretty stressed about travelling over to Reading to see Fantastic Acts, especially as it was in a minibus. I didn’t have any of my usual travel sickness preventative measures (neck cushion, newspaper, front seat, avoidance of minibuses…), apart from my iPod and noise cancelling headphones. DESPITE ALL THIS I WAS ABSOLUTELY FINE! I think stress is something I really need to work on!

Also, I am still looking for Christian student experiences to share on my blog…it will make my next post on Christianity and University a LOT easier – comment or message me to contribute!

Leave a Reply

