End of 2012

Once post-op 1 was done I became more and more ‘normal’, catching up on schoolwork and eventually managing to make it through whole days without collapsing into bed afterwards!

The operation left a few legacies: I can no longer remember how I used to get into bed – during and after hospital I was sitting in a strategic place on the edge of my bed and swung my legs onto the bed to lie on my side (I still do it now!). I also have issues with putting on socks because I got so used to not bending down to do anything.

In terms of clothing I was mainly wearing jogging bottoms and loose t-shirts, although I did realise that I hadn’t got many clothes which were nice enough for college so I did have to go to Peacocks to buy some jeggings, and then again to buy another pair because they were damaged and then again because the new pair was too big – I actually bought the original damaged pair and my mum repaired them! Jeans did become more comfortable as time went on though.

Also, my first week back at school brought very happy news – over the summer my school had a competition to creatively respond to some artwork and I entered with a short story. When I returned to school I was summoned to the head teacher’s office where I was told that I had won for my key stage! I also got some very nice comments on my story from Elly Griffiths, who writes very good books (you can buy the first one here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Crossing-Places-case-Galloway/dp/1847249582/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1408481548&sr=8-5&keywords=elly+Griffiths). Anyway, I won £100 in WHSmith vouchers and received these and a certificate, as well as a memory stick for my GCSE results, at our school awards ceremony at the Brighton Dome (which I had the pleasure of sitting through in its entirety rather than playing the violin). Thought I’d share a photo from that below:

Ready for the Dome

Ready for the Dome

The only other notable event that I can remember is Bredon Bitesize, the reunion for the camp I go on in the summer. This involved another journey into London, where me and my friend Beth managed to get priority seats and everyone else had to endure the floor/doorway. Once we got off the train, we were told the sad news that 2 of our youth leaders wouldn’t be coming on camp, but the happy news that this was because they were having a baby! Subsequently they ended up visiting the Evelina for tests, so I was able to give them a run down of the various floor names before they went. Bitesize was also my first experience of the tube since my operation (it was all fine) and my probably only visit to Winter Wonderland – not particularly fun and too crowded, so we left and had a coffee instead! After a safe journey home, I think we must have had a pizza or something.

Well, I think that’s all for the rest of 2012, apart from my post-op on 18th December which I will talk about in my next post.

Leave a Reply

