Dressing Removal 1: Thursday 4th October 2012

So, I’m now onto recording my recovery. Don’t worry, I won’t be doing this day by day, instead I’ll fill you in on important events and then give a little overview of my time at home recovering.

So, the first major thing to do when you’re discharged from hospital is to arrange a dressing change with your local nurse. This is something we did whilst we were waiting to go home from hospital and it was booked for the morning of the following Thursday (I have a nagging feeling that it could’ve been the Friday but the Thursday seems more likely!)

We arrived at the doctor’s surgery in plenty of time and soon ended up with me lying on the bed thingy (what is it called??) ready for the nurse to carefully remove the dressing. Now, I couldn’t tell how careful she was, but personally it was agonising. I don’t even want to go into details because it would just be too off-putting for you lovely readers. Basically, it felt 100 times worse than yanking a piece of tape off a wound, and don’t even get me started on the steristrip. There must have been about 30 strips and each one was so painful I can’t even describe it. It was made worse by the fact that all my nerves were messed up so I felt it all across my back. It got better when she used the cold spray but I definitely felt like the whole surgery could hear me screaming. Also, my issue with people touching my back made matters worse.

Eventually she redressed my wound and we were sent home, I took some more painkillers and probably had a little sleep. That’s all there really is to say on this subject, so I’ll return tomorrow (hopefully) with my recovery tips for week 1.

Leave a Reply

