Bed Space 20: Saturday 29th September 2012

I find it incredibly annoying to not remember what happened to me for most of my stay in hospital and it’s times like these that I wish I’d written this blog before.

By Saturday, I was beginning to get back to normal – I had a better sleep the night before and I was being forced to get out of bed to go to the loo or get food. They also encouraged me to get out of bed and sit on a chair to help me sit up and not be slumped in bed all day. I was still being sick, but I had been joined in this by Ella and Charlotte, who also suffered from taking morphine.

I think today was when the anti-sickness medication came in, technical name anti-emetics, and this is not a pleasant experience. Much like the removal of the canula I talked about in an earlier post, I think they have to flush the canula, but even if they don’t the sensation is the exact same – it’s really weird and horrible!! However I think it stopped the nausea so that’s good.

From talking to others I’m pretty sure that I was visited by a physio (going to guess her name as Gemma) to do my stair climbing, to make sure that I was ready to go home. We went to the stairwell that you can’t actually get out of unless you go to the ground floor, but luckily we didn’t get locked in! I managed to walk up and down a half flight, and was cleared physically to go home.

I think I was also invited to the cinema to see a film. They have a Medicinema at St Thomas’ that means that patients can be literally wheeled down to watch a film and make their stay a bit more enjoyable. I suppose it was a pleasure to be asked because there apparently isn’t much room for loads of beds in the cinema, but whatever the film was I didn’t want to see it (I think it was a cartoon), so that honour went to someone else.

One thing we’d done to make the stay better was bring my mum’s laptop and some DVDs so I could watch something other than daytime TV. We didn’t really do this much because it was quite hard to set up and the TV on the bed sufficed. But, we did manage an episode of Outnumbered, which was very funny and cheered me up.

One of the highlights of my day, and indeed my entire stay in hospital was watching the finale of Doctor Who, The Angels Take Manhattan, which was the last episode with my beloved Amy and Rory. In a way it was nice that it aired then because I will always remember how I felt when I saw it. I wont go into too much detail about it – it started slowly (although with GREAT music), then things took a turn for the worse, then this scene happened: SPOILER ALERT: IF YOU HAVEN’T SEEN THIS EPISODE 1) WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN? 2) DON’T READ ON!!

I apologise that the video didn’t properly embed, but at least this is the real footage! (Turns out it’s all fine now!)

I think I cried at this point, even just because the music is so amazing. And then you’re hit with this false sense of security because they survive and then BANG Rory gets zapped by an angel, and Amy makes the choice to leave the Doctor and risk being lost in time to be with her husband. By this point I was definitely in tears (remember I was very drugged up!). By the time the episode finished it was 8.05pm and there had been a shift change – my nurse was now Sam. This was a bit awkward because I couldn’t actually say anything about what I’d just watched because he hadn’t been able to see the episode and was planning to watch it on the Monday (if you’re reading this, please let me know what you thought!!)

After I watched Doctor Who, as you might have guessed, I was a little emotional. So it was obviously the perfect time to call someone from home…! This wasn’t actually intentional, we’d been trying to make phone calls all day but we just happened to get through after Doctor Who. Anyway, we rang one of the youth leaders at church, Nicky, and told her that everything went well and to relay this information to relevant people on Sunday. I’m sure we talked about loads of stuff because I hadn’t seen anyone from outside the hospital for days (except Sonia) – all I can really remember about the call was saying ‘I’m a bit emotional because I just watched Doctor Who’. It’s always nice to hear a familiar voice, and I recommend that you call someone at home from hospital if possible because it puts everything back into perspective. It’s a little bittersweet though as it reminds you of what you’re missing.

It was probably about half 8 by this time so, being a Saturday in September, I may have tuned into X Factor (I remember seeing bits of it during my stay) and then I fell into a broken sleep.

Anyway, join me in my next post to hear about my penultimate day in hospital. Please comment/follow/read more – I’ve added a comments box on the about page so you can use this for any comments or questions and I can get back to you.

Leave a Reply

