Being referred

On 29th November 2010, I thought I was going to just be told to come back again in six months and all was fine. However I couldn’t have been more wrong.

When we arrived we were sent straight to X-ray, which we hadn’t done since my first appointment in July 2009. Then we came back to outpatients and were seen for the first time by someone other than the consultant. We went in with a nurse, the registrar examined me and said that the curve had got worse. He had to go and discuss with the consultant and I was very worried that something wasn’t right.

X-Ray Nov 10

My X-Ray November 2010

When he came back, he told me I would have to go to London and have to have surgery. I was naturally upset, and once we had given a full medical history  we left. I pretty much collapsed into a hug with my mum. After that I cried for about half an hour. In that time we drove to KFC, ate our boneless chicken and then I got ready for my orchestral concert rehearsal that evening. Once I was there I had a bit of a rant to my desk partner about the whole situation.

I managed to get through the whole concert (which wasn’t short by the way) but got home and got to bed where I cried again. This was to become a common occurrence, but luckily I didn’t feel too bad because Christmas was coming.

It has taken a while for me to write this post so I will wait and then talk about going to London next time 🙂

Thank you for reading

Elizabeth

3 thoughts on “Being referred

  1. I just had surgery for scoliosis this ADR month, and it actually wasn’t that scary. You’re asleep the whole time and you don’t feel a thing. After that, you recover and it does take a while for you to walk by yourself again. Or at least that’s what happened to me after my scoliosis surgery.

  2. Thank you for reading! I have actually now had my surgery but decided to do a blog looking back on my journey, so other people can see that they’re not alone. You’re right that it’s not that scary looking back but for an otherwise healthy 14 year old it was a massively scary prospect – especially as I was expecting my op to be during my GCSEs (I assume you’re in America so you don’t have them but they’re big exams that you do when you’re 16 so you can go to sixth form to do A-levels or whatever when you’re 18). Glad that your operation went well!

  3. Pingback: Anniversaries and that kinda stuff | After Scoliosis

Leave a Reply

